2022-2023 Virginia Banking Fellows Program
Bank Sponsor Resources

Internal Links Monica McDearmon

Thank you for your support of the 2022-2023 Virginia Banking Fellows Program, in partnership with the Virginia Foundation for Community College Education (VFCCE). We are excited to partner with your bank for the pilot year of this program.

On this page, bank sponsors will find all of the information they need to know leading up to and during the 2022-2023 program. 

Bank Sponsor Orientation – May 3rd

The Bank Sponsor Orientation took place on May 3rd at 1PM via Zoom.

Program Timeline

  • Through May 30, 2022 – Application period open for students
  • By the end of June 2022 – Fellows are selected, selected students will be notified and banks will be notified of selected students
  • Beginning in June 2022 – Banks begin planning for specific engagement opportunities
  • By early August 2022 – Banks will receive a customizable press release announcing the partnership to share with media contacts (see in Press Kit section below for more information)
  • Start of 2022 Academic Year – Fellows Program Orientation, including a Virginia Banking Fellows Program Orientation for all students/bankers
  • September 2022-May 2023 – Fellows Program Official Window
  • June 2023-August 2023 – VBA Internship Program (if applicable)

Ideas for Bank Engagement

Below are some ideas of ways to engage with the Fellows beginning in the fall of 2022. Please note that all engagement opportunities should be presented as optional and once we have Fellows identified and learn more about each of the students, a variety of other opportunities may become clear. Have an idea to share with the group? Please email it to Monica!

  • Invite Fellows to attend VBA sponsored events with your team (see list below)
  • Invite Fellows to join bank leadership/emerging bank leaders for lunch, dinner, virtual coffee hour, etc.
  • Invite Fellows to an “all employee day” or other bank-wide event 
  • Invite Fellows to attend community event where your bank may be sponsoring, working a booth, etc. (this could also help the student complete their community service requirement)
  • In the spring of 2023, explore possible internship opportunities with the Fellows (if available)

VBA Sponsored Events

Fellows will be invited to attend the following VBA events* from September 2022-May 2023 as a way to learn more about the industry and the career opportunities in banking. Attendance at all of these events is completely optional! 

*Event details are subject to change.

VFCCE Fellows Program General Information & Important Dates

The Virginia Banking Fellows Program is part of the overall VFCCE Fellows Program. Students will have access the following opportunities through the VFCCE Fellows Program*:

  • Program Orientation – Start of 2022 Academic Year
  • VCCS Student Leadership Conference – Fall 2022 (tentative)
  • Annual Legislative Event & Reception – February 2023
  • Spring Leadership Finale – May 2023

*More details about these events will be available later this year. Specific programs are subject to change.

ABA Course Information

As part of their experience, Virginia Banking Fellows will have the opportunity to take online training through the American Bankers Association. There are a variety of self-paced and facilitated course options for many different function areas of banking as well as general industry training as well. 

Students will learn more about these options during their Orientation and will make a selection for a course to take in the spring 2023. More details about the schedule of facilitated course options will be available later this year.

2022-2023 ABA Course Options

Bank Sponsor Press Kit

A customizable press release will be made available here by early August 2022!

Virginia Banking Fellows Program Logos:

Bank Sponsor Program Logos:

Social media posts – 2022 application period:

Share these images with your marketing team for use on social media to promote your sponsorship of the 2022-2023 program!

VFCCE & Bank Sponsor Contact Information

VFCCE  
Susan Nolan snolan@vccs.edu
Anne Rogers arogers@vccs.edu
Bank Sponsors – Main Contacts    
American National Bank & Trust Co. Lutheria Smith

smithl@amnb.com

Atlantic Union Bank Nathalia Artus

nathalia.artus@atlanticunionbank.com

Blue Ridge Bank Dorothy Welch dorothy.welch@mybrb.bank
Chesapeake Bank Paula Milsted

pmilsted@chesbank.com

Chesapeake Bank Pat Lewis plewis@chesbank.com
Chesapeake Bank Amy Mitchem amitchem@chesbank.com
First Bank, Virginia Candace Davenport

cdavenport@fbvirginia.com

The Bank of Clarke County Foundation Brandon Lorey

blorey@bankofclarke.com

The Bank of Clarke County Foundation Chris Rieley

crieley@bankofclarke.com

The Bank of Clarke County Foundation Kaley Crosen

kcrosen@bankofclarke.com

The Bank of Clarke County Foundation John Hudson

thefoundation@bankofclarke.com

The Bank of Clarke County Foundation Marianne Schmidt mschmidt@bankofclarke.com
TowneBank Meredith Elliott

meredith.elliott@townebank.net