VBA Elects New Officers
Congratulations to the 2023-2024 Chairman and Chairman-Elect

Article Virginia Bankers Association

The Virginia Bankers Association elected new officers for its 2023-2024 board of directors during their 130th Annual Convention on June 27, 2023.

The VBA is honored to have the following individuals serve as officers of its board of directors:

  • Chairman: Litz H. Van Dyke, CEO, Carter Bank & Trust, Martinsville
  • Chairman-Elect: Victor K. Branch, Richmond Market President, Bank of America, Richmond
  • Immediate Past Chairman: Christopher W. Bergstrom, President & CEO, John Marshall Bank, Reston

Additionally, the following bankers were elected to the VBA Board of Directors:

  • James R. Black, President, CEO & Director, Touchstone Bank, Prince George
  • David P. Boyle, Chairman, President & CEO, Burke & Herbert Bank, Alexandria
  • John J. Brough, CEO, Chain Bridge Bank, McLean
  • John R. Caldwell, President & CEO, The Farmers Bank of Appomattox, Appomattox
  • Thomas F. Cherry, President & CEO, C&F Bank, Toano
  • Steven A. DeLuca, VP, Head of State & Local Government Affairs, Capital One, Richmond
  • Aubrey H. Hall, III, President & CEO, First National Bank, Altavista
  • Scott C. Harvard, CEO, First Bank, Virginia, Winchester
  • G. Lyn Hayth, III, Vice Chair & CEO, Bank of Botetourt, Troutville
  • Brandon C. Lorey, President & CEO, Bank of Clarke, Berryville
  • Thomas L. Ransom, Regional President – Virginia Region, Truist Bank, Richmond
  • Sherri A. Sackett, CEO & Director, Select Bank, Lynchburg
  • Robert F. Shuford, Jr., Chairman, President & CEO, Old Point Financial Corporation, Hampton
  • Brian K. Skinner, President & Regional Banking Director – VA and NE NC, TowneBank, Suffolk
  • Maria P. Tedesco, President & COO, Atlantic Union Bank, Richmond
  • Joseph J. Thomas, President & CEO, Freedom Bank of Virginia, Fairfax
  • Janet N. Tope, Greater VA Region Bank Director/SVP, Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., Richmond
  • Robert C. Wood, Jr., Regional President, SVP, United Bank, Charlottesville

Chairman Litz Van Dyke

Litz Van Dyke is the CEO of Carter Bank & Trust, headquartered in Martinsville, Virginia with 68 full-service branches in Virginia and North Carolina.

Litz has over 30 years of experience in banking and has served as CEO at Carter Bank & Trust since 2017. Prior to joining Carter Bank & Trust as EVP in 2016, Litz held a variety of executive positions in the financial industry such as serving as a practice manager at CCG Catalyst Group, COO of StellarOne Corporation, EVP and COO for Virginia Financial Group, and president and CEO of First National Bank.

Litz has a B.A. in economics from Hampden Sydney College and is a graduate of the Virginia Bankers School of Bank Management and the ABA Stonier Graduate School of Banking.

Chairman-Elect Victor Branch

Victor Branch is the Richmond Market President of Bank of America. Victor joined Bank of America in 1984 through a predecessor institution’s management associate trainee program. He has an Associate Arts Degree in Sociology from Richard Bland College and a B.A. in Sociology from William & Mary. He is also a graduate of the Virginia Bankers School of Bank Management.

As chairman-elect, he is slated to become VBA Chairman in June 2024. 


About the Virginia Bankers Association

The Virginia Bankers Association represents banks of all sizes and charters and has served as the unified voice for Virginia’s $881 billion banking industry and its 45 thousand employees since 1893. To learn more about the VBA, click here.